Celebrating our 2019/20 Winners and Champions

Good evening and welcome to inaugural and hopefully last Virtual Presentation evening.

2020 has been a year to forget for many, while at the same time it has bought people together and the community spirit has arguably never been stronger. The team at The Point would like to all members for their patience, consideration and support during what has been a very difficult time. It is much appreciated.

Sadly there was no annual dinner due to Covid, but that does not mean that we cannot acknowledge the winners of the various competitions and thank the Captains for their huge efforts during the year.

First and foremost a big thank you to Steve Lehan, who worked tirelessly throughout the year selecting teams for the Presidents Cup, the Frank Wills and the Bowl an enormous amount of time and effort went into this and what a fantastic achievement for the Club to beat Perranporth in the final of the Wills at St Enodoc in March. Our second victory in 3 years, a remarkable achievement.

Mike Black-Borow led the Seniors with wit and aplomb and yet another successful season on the match front. The Seniors section is going from strength to strength and it is a huge credit to those who lead it. Thank you Mike for all your time and efforts.

Thanks to our Captains’ leadership, and your efforts, we have raised a remarkable £6300 for Cornwall Hospice Care.

This year we will be running the Club Championship, the Rosebowl and the John Lake Cup. All other events will hopefully be back on schedule in 2021, alongside the opening of the new seventh hole.

We would like to wish both Nigel and Jean success in what can only be described challenging environment, but the spirit of the Club is as strong as it has ever been and the plaudits for Tom and his team on the course remain as strong as ever.

Phil Brookes’ teaching continues to grow and he also puts in the effort in the Office and shop, thank you Phil. Last but not least an enormous thank you to the newly married Mrs Edgar-Lehan, although she has decided to adopt a double-barrelled name her feet remain firmly on the ground and, as ever, is a wonderful asset to the Club. Thank you Libby, we are very lucky to have someone as talented and dedicated as you on the team.

Below we have tabled all our prize winners that would normally be congratulated with a round of applause and cheering but sadly on this occasion this isn’t to be. Please take a moment to read through and acknowledge some great achievements from 2019. Could all prize winners to pop into the office to collect their prize (if you haven’t already received it) and the respective trophy (to keep until next January).

Keep up the great golf in the meantime.

Best Wishes,

Jeremy Davies


Club Awards

Trophy Winner Runners Up
Winter Singles KO 2018-2019 Josh Taylor Roy Arnold
Winter Pairs KO – 2018-2019 Lee Bateman & Nick Richards Paul Donnelly & Russell Abrahams
Ladies Winter KO – 2018-2019 Jackie Smeeth Louise Pinnegar
Men’s Winter Stableford Eclectic to March 2019 Steve Cloke (57)
Men’s Summer Medal Eclectic Toby Trudgian
John Lake Cup (3 clubs & putter) Melanie Williams Matt Edgar-Lehan
President’s Cup (Bowmaker) Elizabeth Trevan, Joe Maude & Alan Meneer Paula Thomas, Roy Arnold & Mike Dowling
Polzeath Jug – Mens Summer Nick Richards & Lee Bateman Nigel Sloggett & Shane Dingle
St Minver Cup (Summer Singles KO) Tony Bright Steven Waddell
Rosebowl – Ladies Elizabeth Trevan
Roserrow Bowl – Men Dan Witts
Ladies Club Champion (Handicap)      Deanna O’Brien
Ladies Club Champion  (Scratch) Jean Tatam
Men’s Club Champion (Handicap) Chris Gill
Men’s Club Champion (Scratch) Mark Gregory


Ladies Awards

Trophy Winner Runners Up
Ladies Pairs Knockout Maggie Day & Jean Tatam Chris Hussey & Paula Thomas
Ladies KO Shield Lizzie Trevan Jackie Smeeth
Pentire Bowl (Mixed KO) Justin & Bridget Barton Roy Arnold & Jackie Smeeth
Victor Ludourum Mel Clare
Best Achievement Mel Clare (29.7-21.1)
Winner of England Golf Club Medal Deanna O’Brien


Seniors Awards

Trophy Winner Runners Up
Dennis Clowes Memorial George Temby
Victor Ludourum Stuart Taylor David Preen
Singles Knockout David Hussey Tony Hogan
Pairs Matchplay Knockout Dave Hussey & Stuart Taylor David Preen & Roy Arnold
Monthly Medals Robbie Black
Summer Eclectic Nigel O’Brien Robbie Black
Winter Eclectic 2018-19 Chris Breckon Colin Hume
3 Clubs and a Putter Stuart Taylor
Most Improved Senior Golfer Robbie Black


Junior Awards

Trophy Winner Runners Up
Junior OOM Kai Dingle


This entry was posted in Blog, Golf. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.